At Project STEP, students who stand out for their skills and accomplishments are recognized each year as special Scholars. Named for people who made generous donations to support Project STEP’s students, the Scholars are strong role models for all students who strive to do their best in the program. The funds donated by those who support Scholars are used by Project STEP to help pay for the comprehensive curriculum of lessons, classes, ensembles, workshops, performance opportunities, and enrichment activities that all students receive.

Each of our named scholars has attained the highest level of musicianship for their age groups. They have won musical competitions while excelling in both their music and academic studies. In order to become a Scholar, students must demonstrate exceptional:

  • Merit – Demonstrating outstanding musical proficiency
  • Dedication – Displaying a strong level of commitment to practice and the persistence to achieve advanced proficiency that is applied to both their music and academic studies
  • Community Involvement – Showing a high level of interest and active engagement with their communities through special performances, ambassadorship, and goodwill



In 2007, The Honorable Levin H. Campbell established an annual scholarship for one advanced STEP student in honor of his wife Eleanor. This annual award goes to a scholar that has been a long-term student of Project STEP.

2020/2021: Christian Casiano, Grade 12, violin



A special thank you to the Boston Society of the New Jerusalem for their generous support in honor of George James Webb.

2020/2021: Nathan Theodore, Grade 11, viola






Suubi, cellist


The Arthur Kravitz Scholarship was established by Barbara Kravitz in 2007. In honor of her late husband Arthur Kravitz’s love for music, one advanced student will be selected each year to receive the award. Dr. Kravitz was deeply committed to Project STEP and passionately supported the program’s mission.

2020/2021: Suubi Laurent, Grade 9, cello





The Bond Scholars are awarded to a Junior Division student(s), grades 6 – 8, in good standing during the previous year. This award recognizes their exemplary involvement in Project STEP as we look forward to their continued success for years to come.

2020/2021: Alba Gilabert-Reid, Grade 7, violin




2020/2021: Giovanni Vazquez, Grade 6, cello








If you are interested in learning more about how to become a funder of a named scholarship for Project STEP, please reach out to